apartmentstill.blogg.se

Second conditional exercises questions
Second conditional exercises questions












second conditional exercises questions
  1. #Second conditional exercises questions how to#
  2. #Second conditional exercises questions free#

If you cheat them when theyre children, they_ make you pay when theyre sixteen or seventeen.e. If everyone demanded peace instead of another television set, then there_ be peace.d. Im an artist and if you give me a tuba*, I_ bring you something out of it.b. Finish these quotes by John Lennon with will and would to make correct sentences.Ī. If I play football for Manchester United, Id be very famous.g. If there are less wars the world would be a better place.f. If John Lennon were alive today, he will still be singing.e. If I spoke English perfectly, I wont be studying now.d. If I were president, my life will be completely different.b. Find the mistakes in these sentences and correct them.Ī. If you dont answer all the questions, _.Ģ. If you try and study the night before the exam, _.d. A teacher is talking to her students before an exam. The best way to become confident in using the second conditional is by practicing it. Would it bother you if I closed the window? We also use the second conditional to make very polite requests. You could save time if you worked from home. If I found a burglar in my house I wouldn’t know what to do. Would they agree if we offered them a short delivery time? If people drove more carefully, there’d be fewer accidents.

second conditional exercises questions

If we could ski we’d come with you to the mountains. I wouldn’t give up my job if I won a lot of money. What would you do if you won a lot of money? If she studied harder she’d pass her exams easily. The students need to take it in turns to pick one up, and complete the sentences in their own words. Once they have all completed this task, place the flashcards face down on the table. Here are some other examples of the second conditional: On each of their flashcards they need to write the first clause of a second conditional sentence.

second conditional exercises questions

He wouldn’t come to the party even if we invited him. What would you do if your company offered you a promotion in another country? If we were rich, we could buy a big house near the sea. I think it helps to remember that we normally use the second conditional when we talk about imaginary situations, dreaming about possible situations and how we would act consequently. The student chooses a playing card and then you ask the student the corresponding question. It can be tricky to understand when it’s right to use the second conditional instead of the first. This is an adapted conversation actvity where you use playing cards. Nowadays you can often hear young native speakers use was instead of were, especially in an informal context. If it weren’t so cold, we could go for a walk. If he were my boss, I’d look for another job. If I were rich, I’d spend all my time travelling. When we use the verb ‘to be’ in the second conditional, the past form is always were and not was for the subjects I, he, she and it. If we lived in the city we could use the public transport. I wouldn’t need a car if I lived in a big city.Īs an alternative to would, we can complete the second part ofĪ second conditional sentence with could. For example, if I saw the movie, I would enjoy it. I’d go out more often if I lived in a big city. Ready to take the amazing Second conditional quiz in English grammar In the study of the English language and its grammar, we identify the second conditional as the scenario in which we use a conditional word like if followed by a past simple then would and the infinitive. If I lived in a big city, I wouldn’t need a car.Īs with all conditionals, you can also invert this structure: If I lived in a big city, I would go out more often. To make a sentence in the second conditional, we use,

#Second conditional exercises questions free#

I don’t have a lot of free time (0%), but in that case, the second part is 100% certain. Below you’ll find many examples of first conditional questions you can use to practice speaking using the first conditional in English.

#Second conditional exercises questions how to#

If I had more free time, I would play more sport. First conditional questions like this are used very often by native English speakers and so it is important for English language learners to learn how to ask and answer first conditional questions. But if it happens, the second part is 100% certain. There is a very low probability (1% chance) that the first part of this sentence (winning the lottery’) will happen. If I won the lottery, I would travel around the world. Completely unrealistic (with a 0% probability).The second conditional is used to express the consequence of an unrealistic action or situation in the present or future. Read on to find out when and how we use it, then practice with a fun quiz. For many students, the second type is the most challenging and tricky to learn to use. As we’ve seen in the previous articles about the Zero Conditional and the First Conditional, there are four types of conditional sentence in English.














Second conditional exercises questions